Navigation:  PRS Essential Reference > Document Management >

Document Management Guidelines

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

Some do's and don't's to ensure all users store shared documents in a common location and all users can access documents linked by other users:

 

•Do set all users to the same shared Documents folder. This can be enforced by checking the Site-wide documents folder option (run the PRS Tools->Options... menu command and click the File Locations tab).
•Do check the Link to Documents folder checkbox in the File Locations page of the Tools->Options... dialog. This prevents users from linking documents to locations that are inaccessible to other users, for example, the C: drive.
•Do not manually rename, delete or move linked documents.
•Do not rename, delete or move folders containing linked documents.

 

TIPS:

•If you have to change the location of your shared documents set the Document search path option to avoid having to relink moved documents (see the Document Search Path sub-section in the on-line PRS Administration Guide for details).
•Use the PRS Audit Report to find broken document links (Audit numbers 300 and 301) using the PRS Report->Audit menu command.